Details of Soma Records 500th release have just been announced.

Next month Slam return home to their own imprint with three new remixes. For the A side the Glasgow duo have provided two new versions of Robert Hood’s ‘The Bond We Formed’, which was originally released on their Soma 25 years compilation back in March. The B side see’s their rework of Carl Craig’s remix of Delia Gonzalez & Gavin Russom’s ‘Relevee’, which was originally released on DFA in 2006.

Stuart McMillan and Orde Meikle founded Soma records back in 1991 and have since been running it with label manager Dave Clarke. Soma has since grown to one of the biggest and most respected dance music labels in the world, calling on artists such as Adam Beyer, Blawan, Clouds and even kick starting the career of Daft Punk.

We recently caught up with Slam for a quick interview on their beginnings, check it out here.

“We don’t think anyone knows when starting anything in the music business just how long it may last or big it may become – we tend not to reminisce much and have always had a forward looking ethos. Also Soma has never considered financial re-numeration as a primary driving factor in decision making which we feel has help our longevity. So here’s to the next 25 years.”

‘Soma500 – Slam Remixes’ EP drops on August 21.

Check out their remix of ‘The Bond We Formed’ below.

01. Robert Hood – The Bond We Formed (Slam Remix)
02. Robert Hood – The Bond We Formed (Slam’s S25 Retro Fit Remix)
03. Delia Gonzalez & Gavin Russom – Relevee (Carl Craig Remix/Slam Rework)


No more articles

We use cookies to monitor usage on our site. Your information will never be shared! read more

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.