We kick Thursday’s content off with a premiere from a pair responsible for some of the biggest tracks of the last decade, as we feature the track ‘Shine’ from Dense & Pika’s first studio length debut album, Colour Burn.

With over a decade of material under their belt, Dense & Pika aka Alex Jones and Chrs Spero are set to release their debut album, ‘Colour Burn’ via London imprint BMG tomorrow [26th February].

Colour Burn’ is a 13-track composition crossing through downtempo house and electronica, built as a conceptual sonic representation of the pair’s live audio and visual set up. The album is a step away from harder and faster material and a move towards a more leftfield sonic trajectory, featuring a handful of impressive heavyweight features of Jones & Spero’s musical heroes who have informed the Dense & Pika output.

Dense & Pika – ‘Colour Burn’

1- Entropy
2 – Wisdom of Crowds
3 – SSD
4 – Slender
5 – Jante
6 – Honey Feat. Matthew Dear

7 – Shine
8 – Hidden Feat. Igor Cavalera

9 – Control Feat. Leftfield
10 – Sofia
11 – Talk To The God
12 – Osmosis
13 – Oxbow

‘Honey’ features the master of sensual, slow-burn techno, Matthew Dear, whose contribution to ‘Honey’ arrives in vocal form – a breathy, brooding ensemble of spoken word that glues perfectly with the duo’s trademark rough and textured sound palette. It helps turn what Alex calls “a headsy, dusty piece of housey tech” into something sensual and otherworldly.

Elsewhere on the LP, standout track ‘Hidden’ features the drums of Sepultura’s legendary metal icon Igor Cavalera, resulting in a fabulous frenzy of percussion and driving rhythm. The equally momentous and unforgettable ‘Control’ features the heavily robotic vocoder of Leftfield’s Neil Barnes aiding and abetting in its quest to be a high- octane, twisted rave jam. ‘Oxbow’ eloquently concludes the duo’s latest album ‘Colour Burn’ with a gleaming ensemble of reverb infused textures and elation inducing synth patterns. A track that truly invigorates that hazy feeling of euphoria that ensues with a rave’s closing statement is positively hard to find.

We premiere the track Shine, which is the 7th track of the album. Shine is a track fit for the peak time dance floor, with a chugging groove from start to finish, complimented by a dreamy and atmospheric breakdown. This is a track for better times and the return to the dance floor.

You can steam Shine below all day, plus purchase the whole album here from your platform of choice.

No more articles

We use cookies to monitor usage on our site. Your information will never be shared! read more

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.