Today we premiere Doubt’s new track ‘Friotaíocht’, releasing as part of the Chancers Vol. 1 compilation, on the new City Imp Records imprint from Roo Honeychild and City Imp, who are releasing their debut compilation with some rising talents of Irish dance music and “weirdo pop”.

With the announcement of Chancers Vol. 1, ‘Dublin Club Queen’ Roo Honeychild launches her new label ‘City Imp Records ’. The philosophy of ‘City Imp Records’ as a label is not to take itself too seriously, according to City Imp its “music for messers”. The stunning artwork designed by DJ Egg provides a graphic of all artists on the VA which includes Roo herself, Selky, Sweet Philly, Toké O’Drift, and more.  

The anything but-over-serious compilation links club sonics derived from genres such as Jersey Club, Industrial Rap, Trance and Hard Drum but all full of Irish Humour and nostalgia and appreciation for “Irish Institutions” such as “shifting someone’s mate at a teen disco, cúpla focail Gaeilge briste and drinking cans on public transport. Iconic samples included on the compilation include some vocal chops from Enya, B*Witched and that viral video of the Kerry Family that failed to catch the rogue bat in their kitchen, but you’ll have to wait to hear them all! 

Doubt’s track ‘Friotaíocht’ is today’s premiere from the compilation. ‘Friotaíocht’ is a fast paced track with the kick pattern and breaks of Jersey Club Music but with that Hard Drum sound Doubt’s production is known for along with hypnotic trancey synths and samples from this moment on Talbot Street a few years ago when Pegida fascists were chased out of Dublin City. 

There has been no slowing down for Doubt in recent years, he is the co-founder of Cork’s ‘Flood’ label with Syn and Tension all of whom have pioneered a forward thinking percussive sound in Irish dance music. Flood as a label have provided an extensive discography of hard drum releases and have been supported internationally by heavyweights such as I Hate Models and Lyzza to name a few. He recently released ‘Soilse’ as a single on the label earlier this year, which is another beautifully produced melodic track, while also making his debut appearance on Rinse FM with Object Blue back in February, who states Doubt as one of her all time favourite producers. Listen to the Rinse Fm set here.

The full Chancers Volume 1 tracklisting.

  1. OHFCKIT – Toké O’Drift
  2. The 46anthem – DJ Selky
  3. Freak – Rory Sweeney x JuliaLouise Knifefist
  4. Friotaíocht – Doubt
  5. #AonDóTrí Challenge – City Imp (prod. Roo Honeychild, feat. Big M)
  6. N-Yasss – FRAQ
  7. Justice (Four Courts) – Sweet Philly

Check out Doubt’s track below from ‘Chancers Volume 1’ on our SoundCloud now and be sure to follow City Imp Records and Doubt on their socials. Pre-order for the compilation is now available on the City Imp Records Bandcamp with a release date of Wednesday the 28th of April.

No more articles

We use cookies to monitor usage on our site. Your information will never be shared! read more

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.